shallow-focus-photo-of-world-globe-10985

SHOWCASE WORKSHOP SESSIONS

Workshop Sessions

Registrations are now open for a number of interactive virtual Workshops being held during the Virtual Pre-Conference Global Injury Prevention Showcase 2021

We encourage participants of the virtual Showcase to refer to the time zone for each live Workshop and only register for sessions that you can join live. 

Registrations are open to participants of the virtual Showcase. To register for the Showcase, or to add a Workshop to your existing registration, click the below link; 

Workshop Registrations are now closed

Workshop 1: 
Systems to support community falls prevention: a research, policy, and practice model

Date/Time:

Monday 22 March 2021

2:00am - 3:00am EDT   |   7:00am - 8:00am WAT   |   7:00am - 8:00am CET   |   8:00am - 9:00am EET   

11:30am - 12:30pm IST   |   2:00pm - 3:00pm PHST   |   5:00pm - 6:00pm AEDT

Workshop Host: Injury Matters

About the Workshop

Falls are one of the most significant causes of injury, with people aged 60 years and older disproportionately impacted. Injuries due to falls put strain on the healthcare system and individuals through healthcare needs, long-term care needs, loss of productivity and quality of life lost. This workshop will focus on three elements of systematic change to reduce the impact of falls on the community through policy, practice and research. The workshop aims to provide an interactive session focused on: a state-wide strategy aligning to policy; an overview of evidence based program design and implementation to influence change relating to falls risk factors; and the application of a Knowledge Translation (KT) Framework. Throughout the workshop, a case study example of the well-established Stay On Your Feet® program, based in Western Australia, will highlight opportunities for actions and levers to push for collaborative systems. Participants will have the opportunity to workshop falls prevention strategies specific to their community and share learnings across contexts.​

Learning Outcomes

1. To instigate systemic opportunities for falls prevention.

2. To highlight an effective falls prevention model for policy, practice and research.

3. To showcase a falls prevention program example that focuses on systemic change: Stay On Your Feet®

Target Audience

Practitioners, policy makers and action researcher

Workshop 2:

Drowning prevention policy & planning, lessons from across the globe

Date/Time:

Monday 22 March 2021

4:30am - 5:30am EDT   |   9:30am - 10:30am WAT   |   9:30am - 10:30am CET   |   10:30am - 11:30am EET    

12:00pm - 1:00pm IST   |   4:30pm - 5:30pm PHST   |   7:30pm - 8:30pm AEDT

Workshop Host: Australian Water Safety Council

About the Workshop

This workshop will explore the WHO recommendations on drowning prevention policy, planning and co-ordination. In 2014 WHO called for the creation of national water safety plans, and the strengthening of co-ordination with other sectors. This has prompted many groups, including governments and NGOs to initiate planning and coordination processes with the view to increasing resources, collaboration and strengthening water safety outcomes. Case studies from existing drowning prevention policy agendas across high, low and middle income contexts will be presented and discussed. Lessons will be shared and critiqued against literature, and as well as examples from other sectors. Participants will debate and formulate recommendations for future action, research and partnership.

Learning Outcomes

1. Outline the implications of WHO recommendations on policy and planning

2. Analyze successes and challenges from case studies

3. Share lessons and insights from literature and other sectors

4. Draft recommendations for future action, research and partnership

Target Audience

Those with interest in policy and agenda setting in the context of drowning prevention and water safety.

Workshop 3:   

Big Data in Road Safety Monitoring and Evaluation

Date/Time:

Monday 22 March 2021

4:00pm - 5:00pm EDT   |   9:00pm - 10:00pm WAT   |   9:00pm - 10:00pm CET   |   10:00pm - 11:00pm EET   

Tuesday 23 March 2021

1:30am - 2:30am IST   |   4:00am - 5:00am PHST   |   7:00am - 8:00am AEDT

Workshop Host: Johns Hopkins International Injury Research Unit

About the Workshop

Road traffic crashes are a leading cause of death for children and young adults. About 1.35 million people die on the roads every year globally, and 50 million more are injured. Data play an essential role in all road safety interventions: advocating for action, raising public awareness, generating funding, piloting interventions, and monitoring progress. Lack of data has been a significant barrier in developing and evaluating mitigation policies. As a result, Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) specifically calls for enhancing data collection and monitoring progress towards target 3.6. on halving the number of global deaths and injuries from road traffic crashes. Traditional data collection methods (e.g., surveillance and surveys) are challenging to scale up and expensive to sustain due to their labor-intensive and high-cost nature. According to the World Health Organization, few countries and regions have data on major road safety risk factors from representative samples at national or local levels. Emerging big data technologies create the potential to meet the need for real-time and large-scale road safety data by researchers and policymakers. The workshop introduces popular big data sources and analytical approaches for road safety monitoring and evaluation. The agenda includes both lectures and interactive sessions. Case studies will be provided to demonstrate the success and potential for big data analytics in road safety research and policymaking.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of the workshop, participants will be able to:

1. describe common big data sources for road safety;

2. identify potential big data sources on a given road safety area;

3. apply basic big data analytical skills.

Target Audience

Road safety researchers and policy makers

Workshop 4:    

Innovative Approaches to Capacity Development for Injury Prevention in Low-and Middle-Income Countries

Date/Time:

Tuesday 23 March 2021

1:00am - 2:00am EDT   |   6:00am - 7:00am WAT   |   6:00am - 7:00am CET   |   7:00am - 8:00am EET   

10:30pm - 11:30pm IST   |   1:00pm - 2:00pm PHST   |   4:00pm - 5:00pm AEDT

Workshop Host: Global Road Safety Partnership (GRSP) and Johns Hopkins International Injury Research Unit (IIRU)

About the Workshop

Despite the high burden of injuries, many low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) lack trained human resources for practice and research in injury prevention. Furthermore, those who are trained receive very little formal training or mentoring on translating knowledge into practice. There is also a dearth of training programs that are designed for, and implemented in these settings. Many training programs that are available are often expensive and out of reach for individuals in these settings. This series of presentations and panel discussion will focus on innovative approaches for capacity development - at the individual, and institutional levels, in the field of injury prevention in LMICs. The speakers on this panel have been involved in developing and implementing innovative capacity development programs in LMICs, and will introduce these approaches, as well as share their key features, strengths, and challenges.

Learning Outcomes

Outcomes will focus on content in these presentations, followed by a panel discussion:

1. Strengthening global capacity for violence and injury prevention: Dr. Nhan Tran will discuss strategies and opportunities for building and strengthening global capacity for violence and injury prevention.

2. Strengthening leadership capacity for effective implementation of road safety programs: Dr. Abdulgafoor Bachani will discuss the development and implementation of the Global Road Safety Leadership Course, an innovative course that focuses on building leadership capacity to design, advocate for, and implement effective road safety programs and policies.

3. Developing institutional capacity for research in injury prevention and control: Dr. Olive Kobusingye will discuss lessons learnt from embedding trauma, injury, and disability training within public health curriculum in a LMIC.

4. Enhancing leadership capacity of road police: Dr. Judy Fleiter will discuss the development of a Road Policing Leadership Course aimed at senior road police leaders in LMICs to enhance knowledge about contemporary, evidence-based approaches to intelligence-led policing to reduce road traffic crashes and injuries.

Target Audience

Policy makers, practitioners interested in building capacity to support improved road safety

Workshop 5: 

Meet the Editors

Date/Time: 

Tuesday 23 March 2021

7:00am - 8:00am EDT   |   12:00pm - 1:00pm WAT   |   12:00pm - 1:00pm CET   |   1:00pm - 2:00pm EET

4:30pm - 5:30pm IST   |   7:00pm - 8:00pm PHST   |   10:00pm - 11:00pm AEDT 

About the Workshop

This workshop is aimed at early career researchers who are interested in knowing more about the publication process. Editors from a range of journal will discuss how the process of publication works from receiving the submission to the final printed version discussing what you need to know to help you improve you likelihood of being published. This one hour workshop will answer the common questions raised about publishing, such as ‘how should I respond to reviewers?’, who chooses reviewers?, what takes so long?, what happens when rejected?, do the editors read the letter to them?, can I say I don’t want someone to review my paper?, who can be an author and may more…

Learning Outcomes:

  1. Develop strategies to help improve your publication

  2. Appraise the relative options for where to publish

  3. Examine what goes into the production of a published article

Workshop 6: 

International Safety Media Awards - Using Research to Guide Practice

Date/Time:

Tuesday 23 March 2021

4:00pm - 5:00pm EDT   |   9:00pm - 10:00pm WAT   |   9:00pm - 10:00pm CET   |   10:00pm - 11:00pm EET

Wednesday 24 March 2021

1:30am - 2:30am IST   |   4:00am - 5:00am PHST   |   7:00am - 8:00am AEDT

Workshop Host: International Safety Media Awards

About the Workshop

Background: Injury prevention and safety promotion strategies have evolved over the past 50 years. Originally focusing on engineering, education and enforcement, the work now draws on theories and research from multiple disciplines, Psychology, Neurology, Sociology, Communication and more. Safety Media, once used to provide education, now has the ability to persuade people to make changes.

 

Methods: The International Safety Media Awards (ISMA) have recognized excellence in media since 2006. The evolution of evaluation and research methodologies are evidenced in ISMA winners. New methods include using Neuromarketing measures for message optimization and tracking behavior for actual change, versus intention and self report..

Learning Outcomes

A series of ISMA winners and judges will present their methods, and the results and conclusions from their work. Participants will hear state of the art research findings as well as gain practical insights for implementation in their own work.

Workshop 7: 

ECR Workshop - Shut up and write

Date/Time: 

Wednesday 24 March 2021

4:30am - 5:30am EDT   |   9:30am - 10:30am WAT   |   9:30am - 10:30am CET   |   10:30am - 11:30am EET

2:00pm - 3:00pm IST   |   4:30pm - 5:30pm PHST   |   7:30pm - 8:30pm AEDT

 

About the Workshop

It can be hard to find uninterrupted time to dedicate to your academic writing be it original drafts or manuscript revisions. Join us online for a 1 hour virtual shut up and write session. This will be a moderated session and connect students and ECRs from all over the globe. We will set our intentions for the session at the commencement of the session and enjoy some companionable (virtual) quiet time dedicated to whatever your goals may be for the session.

Workshop 8:

Using Data to Action through the Violence Against Children Surveys

Date/Time:

Wednesday 24 March 2021

4:00pm - 5:00pm EDT   |   9:00pm - 10:00pm WAT   |   9:00pm - 10:00pm CET   |   10:00pm - 11:00pm EET

Thursday 25 March 2021   

1:30am - 2:30am IST   |   4:00am - 5:00am PHST   |   7:00am - 8:00am AEDT

Workshop Host: US Centers for Disease Control

About the Workshop

In line with the Safety Conference theme, "Innovation, Engagement, Action: for a safer future", the Division of Violence Prevention, NCIPC, CDC is interested in highlighting a global strategy that has been implemented in several countries addressing the use of evidence to generate political action aimed at preventing violence against children (VAC). Specifically, we will highlight the implementation strategy and activities that enable using data collected from the VAC national surveys to design National Action Plans and interventions at a country level.

 

The workshop will be divided into three sections. Speaker 1 will introduce and highlight the overall strategy and implementation rationale used in all countries where the VACS has been implemented. Speakers 2 and 3 will highlight specific country examples. Speaker 2 will highlight the Kenya experience and how VACS data from two surveys contributed to designing national responses with demonstrable progress in several violence indicators. Speaker 3 will highlight the experience of Colombia and the coordination process that lead to the generation of a national action plan and subnational plans based on VACS recommendations, including accounting for challenges during the COVID-19 pandemic. The facilitator will briefly summarize these presentations at the end and highlight the implementation innovations that have led to the creation of evidence based policies and programs through this replicable model of prevention.

Learning Outcomes

1. Learners will learn from the VACS data to action strategies

2. Learners will identify challenges and strategies useful to effectively use data for policy generation

3. Learners will be able to learn from two different country examples the benefits of using data for policy generation within a highly collaborative context

4. Learners will be able to identify the importance of linking the COVID-19 pandemic to national responses aimed at preventing violence against children.

Target Audience

Researchers and practitioners

Workshop 9:

Come on a Virtual Playground Tour - What Makes an Award-Winning Playground?  

Date/Time:

Thursday 25 March 2021   

 2:00am - 3:00am EDT   |   7:00am - 8:00am WAT   |   7:00am - 8:00am CET   |   8:00am - 9:00am EET 

 11:30am - 12:30pm IST   |   2:00pm - 3:00pm PHST   |   5:00pm - 6:00pm AEDT

Workshop Host: Kidsafe NSW

About the Workshop

During 2020 Kidsafe Australia received some spectacular entries into our National Playspace Design Awards.  Children and their local communities worked with designers, owners and developers to create playspaces that they want to use – they are innovative, challenging, beautiful and culturally representative of the children that learn and play within them. Children, their families and carers want to ‘stay and play.’  Innovation and creativity are important but more so, play areas must incorporate usability and accessibility as well as represent community and diversity, both of people and their environments. Indeed, having a safe place to play is a human right noted under the United Nations’ Convention of the Rights of the Child. It recognises the right of all children of all abilities to rest and leisure, to engage in play and recreational activities appropriate to the age of the child, and to participate freely in cultural life and the arts.

 

There were 19 inspirational playgrounds that won awards from all over Australia - what made them winners?

  • Commitment to safety and accessibility

  • Innovative and  inclusive design

  • Impact of community and culture

  • Representative of the local natural environment

  • Sustainable and suitable for Australian micro-climates.

 

This stimulating ‘virtual playground tour’ will showcase how brilliant design and community engagement can be achieved in line with the Australian Standards for playground equipment and surfacing   - sounds boring? No … the award winning playgrounds are creative, challenging and safe!

Learning Outcomes

  1. Showcase award winning Australian Playgrounds

  2. Highlight community and cultural involvement

  3. Feature innovation and nature as 'points of difference'

  4. Demonstrate conformance to Australian Standards

Target Audience

Focused on creative play design and use in line with safety standards 

Satellite Session:

Step Safely: WHO's new report on the prevention and management of falls across the life course 

Date/Time:

Thursday 25 March 2021   

 6:00am - 7:00am EDT   |   11:00am - 12:00pm WAT   |   11:00am - 12:00pm CET   |   12:00pm - 1:00pm EET 

 3:30pm - 4:30pm IST   |   6:00pm - 7:00pm PHST   |   9:00pm - 10:00pm AEDT

Session Host: World Health Organization

About the Session

Step Safely is the new WHO report on falls prevention and management. It is the first time WHO has dedicated a report to falls prevention and management across the life course. The report has been several years in the making and has involved a major evidence synthesis to assess the evidence for falls prevention. The report has benefited from the input of close to 100 external experts and has involved 7 different WHO departments. Falls are a major global public health problem, with good evidence for their prevention and management. More work needs to be done to make governments and end users aware of the interventions that can be implemented to prevent falls, and Step Safely provides a framework for doing this.

Learning Outcomes

  1. Make people aware of WHO's new normative guidance on falls prevention and management

  2. Make people aware of the evidence base for falls prevention and management

  3. Discuss strategies to catalyse greater global engagement with falls prevention and management

Target Audience

Falls prevention practitioners. Note; registration for this session is not required. This session will be available for all participants of the Showcase to watch live and on demand. 

Workshop Registration

We encourage participants of the virtual Showcase to refer to the time zone for each live Workshop and only register for sessions that you can join live and contact events@phaa.net.au should you no longer be able to participate.

Registrations are open to participants of the virtual Showcase. To register for the showcase, or to add a Workshop to your existing registration, click the below link;

Workshop Registrations are now closed

Prior to registering please note;

  • Numbers are limited. A waitlist will be established once all available places have been filled;

  • You must already be registered for the virtual Showcase;

  • Review the time zone to ensure you can participate in the live session;

  • Please only register for sessions you would like to participate in, allowing space for others to join;

  • These sessions will not be recorded and will not be made available outside of the live session.