PhD/ECR Sub-Committee Members

Amy Peden Image.jpg

Dr Amy Peden - Committee Chair

Lecturer, School of Population Health, UNSW Sydney

Amy is a lecturer and researcher at UNSW Sydney. Her research explores injury prevention with a focus on drowning prevention and the intersecting issues of rurality, alcohol and exposure. Amy holds adjunct positions with James Cook University, The George Institute for Global Health and is a Senior Research Fellow with Royal Life Saving Society – Australia. Amy is an early career researcher whose PhD, which explored the epidemiology, risk factors and prevention strategies for unintentional river drowning, was awarded in 2019. Her PhD programme of research was awarded the Sax Institute Research Action Award in 2019, the 2020 Dean’s Award for Higher Degree by Research Excellence and also in 2020 was also acknowledged as the Council of Academic Public Health Institutions in Australia (CAPHIA) Award winner for PhD Excellence in Public Health. Amy is a member of the Australasian Injury Prevention Network executive.

200908 Medhavi.jpg

Medhavi Gupta

PhD Student, The George Institute for Global Health, UNSW, Sydney, Australia

Medhavi Gupta is a final-year PhD Candidate at the George Institute for Global Health, focusing on community-level drowning reduction in India and Bangladesh. Drawing on previous experiences in management consulting, community work in LMICs and research in psychology, Medhavi is particularly interested in understanding and addressing the practical challenges of program delivery and policy change in these contexts.

As bios are received, their information will be added below.

Safety 2022

Subscribe to Updates from Safety 2022

©2023 by Public Health Association of Australia. Proudly created with